Poetry slam dunk

Riyaadh Sarang, who uses the poet name Riyo, was the winner of the 2017 Cape Town Poetry Slam.

The annual Cape Town Poetry Slam starts next week with three preliminary slams and a final round at the Fugard Theatre on Saturday September 8.

The competition is a collaboration between InZync Poetry, the Stellenbosch University Museum, Bellville library, Cape Town Central library, the Fugard Theatre and the Open Book Festival,

Allison-Claire Hoskins, Roché Kester, Samora Magwa and Quaz Roodt will be among the poets hosting the initial rounds and there will be live beats by DJ Deco.

The judges for this year’s slam are rapper Jitsvinger, poetry slam champion, writer and performer Siphokazi Jonas and Lingua Franca spoken word movement director, Mbongeni Nomkonwana. The final will also include a short performance by each of the judges.

Budding poets can sign up on the day of each preliminary round, with a maximum of 25 poets taking part.

The preliminary rounds take place:

On Saturday August 11 at Stellenbosch University Museum, at 1pm

On Saturday August 18 at Bellville library, at 1pm

On Saturday August 25 at Cape Town Central library, at 1pm

The final is on Saturday September 8 at the Fugard Theatre at 8pm. Tickets will be on sale for R50. Book through Webtickets.